Backup Rank

Power Station Transfer Switch and Home Panel Guide

How a transfer switch or home panel connects a power station to your house, who installs it, and which models list home panel support or 120V and 240V.

A power station can run devices you plug into it. To power circuits in your house, such as a furnace fan or a well pump, you need a safe connection to the home wiring. That is the job of a transfer switch or a smart home panel. This guide explains both and lists which models the makers say work with them. Prices are as of November 8, 2026. Many are sale prices, and some models are pre-orders.

What a transfer switch does

A transfer switch is an electrical switch that moves a load from one power source to another. In a home, it lets selected circuits run from a backup source instead of the grid. It keeps the two sources from being connected at the same time. That separation is the point of the device.

Do not wire a power station into household circuits yourself. A licensed electrician installs a transfer switch or a home panel, and local rules and permits apply. Ask the electrician which circuits you want backed up and how much power they draw.

Manual switch, inlet box or smart panel

The maker pages in our data describe a few paths:

A smart home panel is a separate product that works with the power station through the maker's parts. A manual switch is the simpler path. The right choice depends on your home and your electrician. Check the maker's page for the exact parts a model needs.

Models marked for a home panel or transfer switch

Our data marks these models. If a model is not listed, the maker's page does not state it.

Model Capacity Output Voltage Price
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Ultra 3,072 Wh 3,600 W 120V only $1,299
Jackery HomePower 3000 3,072 Wh 3,600 W 120V only $1,499
BLUETTI Apex 300 2,764.8 Wh 3,840 W 120V and 240V $1,499
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Ultra Plus 3,072 Wh 3,600 W 120V only $1,599
EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3,600 Wh 3,600 W not stated $1,799
Anker SOLIX S5000 5,024 Wh 4,500 W 120V and 240V $2,499.99

The DELTA Pro page lists 240V AC input but does not state 240V output for one unit, so we show voltage as not stated. The Apex 300 is a pre-order, and the Anker SOLIX S5000 is a pre-order style listing at a launch special price.

120V and 240V models

North American homes use split-phase power with 120V and 240V. Large loads such as a well pump or central air often use 240V. Models that list both voltages:

Model Capacity Output Price
BLUETTI Apex 200 2,560 Wh 3,200 W $1,099
BLUETTI Apex 300 2,764.8 Wh 3,840 W $1,499
Oukitel P5000 Plus 5,120 Wh 3,600 W $1,799
Oukitel BP5000 Pro Max 5,120 Wh 5,000 W $1,899
Pecron F5000LFP 5,120 Wh 7,200 W $2,399
Anker SOLIX S5000 5,024 Wh 4,500 W $2,499.99

Only the BLUETTI Apex 300 and Anker SOLIX S5000 are both 120V and 240V and marked for a home panel. The others list the voltages but do not state a panel path. Ask the electrician and the maker whether a model works with your setup. The Pecron F5000LFP is also a pre-order that ships later.

Questions to ask before you buy

  1. Which circuits do I want powered, and what is their total load?
  2. Does my model list the voltage those circuits need?
  3. Does the maker name a specific transfer switch, inlet box or panel?
  4. Is the warranty still valid when a licensed electrician installs it?
  5. How long will the battery last at that load? Use our sizing guide.

Rankings

See the home backup list, the expandable list and the solar list. For general selection advice, read how to choose a home backup power station.

Our top picks

The best-scoring model in each list. Scores compare models within one list, so 100 means best there on every point, not perfect.

Scores reward a low price per watt-hour, high output, room to expand and long warranties, all as the makers state them. They don't measure real-world efficiency, noise or app quality, so use them to shortlist, then read the model pages.

More guides